The School of Civil Engineering, established in 1955, is the oldest school of the Engineering Faculty of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

Its mission has been the education of the students, the creation of civil engineers with strong theoretical background as well as practical thinking. The students have the opportunity to develop their own personality, to get all the required knowledge resulting from the rapid scientific and technological development around the world and to apply original ideas and new technologies in solving complex and integrated problems.

The educational philosophy of the School aims at the creation of qualified civil engineers, capable to apply their full professional readiness in all the subjects that are related to the practice of their skills and knowledge. The structure of the five-year educational curriculum leads to a comprehensive Integrated Master degree in Civil Engineering which provides the young engineers with all the necessary knowledge and skills for a successful career.

The School of Civil Engineering of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki achieved, through the continuous efforts of its Staff Members, a sovereign place in the scientific/technical education and research in Greece, and at the same time an international recognition.

Four Post-graduate programs as well as a Doctoral program have been also established and various Memorandum of Understanding and Scientific Agreements with other European and North American universities have been developed. The members of the School are very active in high quality research participating in many national and European projects. The School possesses one of the highest positions among Engineering Schools of the Greek universities in terms of influx of competitive research funds from national and European resources.

The efforts of all of us, as members of a state University, are towards an Education of high level and standards and a Research of high quality for developing and improving the Economy of Knowledge and for the benefit of the Society.


A. D. Tsonos, Chairman